Call for Papers

The Linguistics Program at the CUNY Graduate Center will host the 43rd Linguistic Symposium on Romance Languages, April 17-19, 2013. On April 18, 2013, there will be a Special Plenary Session on Parsed Corpora of the Romance Languages.

The organizers of LSRL43 invite abstracts for 20-minute talks (plus 10 minutes for discussion) on any aspect of Romance Linguistics.

Invited Speakers for Main Session:

  • Ricardo Otheguy, CUNY Graduate Center
  • Lori Repetti, Stony Brook University

Special Session on Parsed Corpora of Romance Languages:

Alongside providing a general platform for dissemination of research on Romance linguistics, the LSRL43 organizers would like to place a special focus on an important emerging area of research in Romance: Parsed Corpora. Our Special Session on Parsed Corpora of Romance Languages will be a Plenary event, so that all conference participants will have the opportunity to learn about some of the most exciting advances in syntax which are based on these very recently created and innovative tools. Invited speakers for the Special Plenary Session are:

  • Charlotte Galves, University of Campinas
  • Anthony Kroch and Beatrice Santorini, University of Pennsylvania
  • Ana Maria Martins, University of Lisbon

In the spirit of this focus, we welcome abstract submissions for regular parallel session (20-minute) talks, which are on research based on Parsed Corpora in the Romance languages.

Abstract submission guidelines: All abstracts should be no more than two pages in length (including examples and references), in 12-point type, 8.5×11-inch page setup (= US Letter), with 1-inch margins. Submissions are limited to one individual and one joint abstract per author.

Please note: Authors are asked to submit their abstracts through EasyAbs, at:

Deadline for receipt of abstracts: Monday, December 10, 2012


Notification of acceptance: no later than February 5, 2013

**NOTE**: There is a slight delay in notification; notifications will be sent out in the week of February 11-15.

Conference website:

Contact email:

Organizers: Christina Tortora, Marcel den Dikken, Frances Blanchette, Ignacio Montoya, Teresa O’Neill, Emily Wilson